S1/E3: ALIYA The Story By Minna Davies (Episode Three)

a
The footsteps getting closer to her room, she can see the shadow of his boot beneath the door. The first bang on the door tears her apart.

Episode Three

ALIYA

(The story)

By Minna Davies

ALIYA’S BED ROOM-

She is already covered up in her bed sleeping. The bang from the sitting room door scares her up. Hugged up with fear in her, the man’s voice rekindles it seems it wants to fade

MAN

Hey. I know you are in here… come out.

She wraps herself in her bed.

MAN

Don’t make me come for you girl.

The footsteps getting closer to her room, she can see the shadow of his boot beneath the door. The first bang on the door tears her apart.

MAN

Open up…

ALIYA (V.O)

If you think that is my dad,

You are wrong… that, that is my

Uncle, Musa.

MUSA

Open up… please, I am hungry.

(whining)

I need something to eat. I know you

are in there.

ALIYA (V.O)

He is my mum’s younger brother.

I am staying with him for now,

and he has just one rule. “Do not

go to my room.” And I respected it,

I really do not know why. Maybe because

he reminds me of my dad, it scares me.

He does this every night; he comes home drunk

shouting, minutes later he is on the couch asleep.

Aliya creeps out of her bed with blanket, and walks to the sitting room. Her uncle is on the couch snoring, with shoes and his clothes on. Aliya pulls off his shoes and socks. She pulls his jacket in the process he slips and falls to the ground.

ALIYA

Oh sorry.

She covers him with the blanket and leaves.

FADE OUT.

The next morning, ALIYA cooking in the kitchen, STANLEY in the sitting room, he wakes up with a headache.

MUSA

Shit… not again. I am so hungry.

The sound and smell of food cooking in the kitchen catches his attention. He stands up in a stagger. And slowly walks to the kitchen hitting a few things on his way.

 

Aliya turns to notice him and continues what she was doing.

ALIYA

You are awake already.

MUSA

Yeah. I feel like I fell on my head.

ALIYA

Oh really.

Musa takes an apple from the fridge.

MUSA

No school today?

ALIYA

Saturday.

MUSA

Oh really. My head really hurts,

Do you know why?

ALIYA

No, maybe because you came home drunk.

MUSA

Okay.

ALIYA

I don’t know what you do uncle.

MUSA

Well I have told you not to ever ask.

I provide, I give you food and shelter,

that is all you need to know.

ALIYA

You come home late and drunk at night.

MUSA

(angry)

I said don’t ask.

He takes a bite from the apple and leaves the kitchen to his room.  He opens his drawer, in it is a gun, passport, cocaine, and weed. He takes a bag of cocaine slice it open and takes a doze.

A knock at the door.

He clean up and goes to the sitting room. ALIYA already opened the door. She and Eddie are at the edge of the couch talking.

EDDIE

… am not sure.

MUSA

Hey.

Aliya goes to the kitchen.

EDDIE

Hey brotherly, how far.

They shake.

MUSA

You are here early.

EDDIE

Yeah business, we have to leave now.

MUSA

I just woke up, I am very hungry.

EDDIE

I can see that. Your nose.

There is a little white power at the tip of his nose.

MUSA

Oh shit.

Wipes it off.

MUSA (CONT’D)

Did she notice.

EDDIE

I don’t know. Meet me at The Place in an hour.

MUSA

Couldn’t you just call or send a message?

EDDIE

Your phone is dead, fool.

Eddie leaves.

MUSA

Is the food ready yet?

ALIYA

Almost.

MUSA

Almost?! You know what,

bring it like that

FADE OUT.

A YEAR AGO

The scream of Aliya’s parents welcomes her back from school. She is at the front of the door.

RAMAT

Please Ekene don’t hurt me.

EKENE

Shut your mouth.

The door opens Aliya enters walking slowly to the sitting room, haunted by both their screams. Seeing her dad on her mum Punching and beating her as she screams for her life, in fear her bag drops from her hand and she runs to save her mum only.

ALIYA

Leave her alone…

He shoves her away.

EKENE

Stay out this Aliya.

RAMAT

(Screaming in fear)

Go to your room Aliya please. Don’t

hurt my girl

Aliya runs to the kitchen and picks a knife.  She stares at it for a while, she is in-between right her thoughts, she makes to drop it but the scream of her mother changes her mind. She slowly walks to the siting room with the knife, her eyes firm tapping the knife against her lap.

PRESENT DAY

The Place restaurant, MUSA and EDDIE are sitting at a corner. A brief case is by Eddie’s side. Both are drinking.

MUSA

What were you telling Aliya?

EDDIE

Nothing brother, Just the usual…

How are you? What’s new… the usual stuff?

MUSA

Well I don’t want you getting close.

EDDIE

Come on bro, am family.

MUSA

I don’t like the way you look at her.

EDDIE

Well she is a pretty girl. I can’t help it.

MUSA

Do you want to die?

EDDIE

Okay, point taken. He is here.

TJ walks from the entrance with lollipop in his mouth. Musa turns to look at him.

MUSA

Is that him?

EDDIE

Yeah.

He stops at their table.

TJ

Hey Eddie.

Leave a Reply

