S1/E1: ALIYA (The Story) By Minna Davies

Its 9 P.M, ALIYA is walking home from her dance rehearsals. She blocks her ears with her ear piece. 

Episode one

ALIYA

(the story)

By Minna Davies

Its 9 P.M, ALIYA is walking home from her dance rehearsals. She blocks her ears with her ear piece.

ALIYA

(Checks her watch)

Oh shit a late

She cuts to an empty road in a haste. The struggling scream of a man catches her attention. She pulls her ear piece and moves over to the sound. It’s an uncompleted building. She hangs behind a window.

TJ licking a lollipop, LALA, and a man tied up on his knees.

ALIYA scared as she watches.

TJ

I told you not to snitch fool.

MAN

I am sorry. I didn’t mean to. One

More Chance boos.

ALIYA brings her phone and begins to record in fear.

TJ

No more chances. I no fit trust you

again you suppose understand.

He turns away; LALA pulls a gun and shoots him.

ALIYA stumbles in fear almost dropping her phone.

ALIYA

(whispering)

Oh my God.

TJ

Did you hear something?

LALA

No boss.

ALIYA pulls back her phone to get their faces, all of a sudden her phone rings.

ALIYA

Seriously?

JANE name appears on her phone screen, she cuts the call.TJ and LALA Looks towards the sound, LALA sights ALIYA with her phone.

ALIYA

I’m dead.

FADE OUT.

Aliya running in panic turning back occasionally and each time, Lala is behind her.

ALIYA (VOICE OVER)

How did my life get from slightly boring

to slightly scary? I mean it was not always

like this for me. A year ago I had a normal

life.

A YEAR AGO

Its evening, Aliya is on her bed watching a dance video on her laptop. The image fills her eyes as she pays raft attention. On her bed is a competition form “INTER SCHOOL COMPETITION” with her name on the competitor’s bar. Her door is slightly open, her mum and dad are heard as they start a fight screaming at each other.

EKENE

(angrily shouting)

Ramat! Ramat! Where are you?

ALIYA (VOICE OVER)

Almost normal

RAMAT

Ekene, what is it again?

EKENE

Where is my money?

RAMAT

What money?

The sound of her parent vexes her every time. Soon the argument turns into a fight. Plates breaking the sound of the kitchen falling apart. Aliya blocks her ears with her pillow.

EKENE

Oh you are calling me a liar right?

More things falling. Ramat screaming in fear as they fall.

RAMAT

I did not take you money. Ekene, please

I swear I didn’t.

Aliya irritated and angry with it all rushes to shut her door and back to her bed covering herself with her wrapper as more smashing things are being heard and the voices increase, Aliya is scared.

FADE OUT.

Its morning, Aliya wakes, she wears her flip flap at the edge of her bed and walks to the kitchen. Her mom clearing it up the kitchen broken plats on the ground, knives, spoons cups e.t.c. Ramat is on the ground picking them up, crying… she notices Aliya, and pulls herself together.

RAMAT

You should go prepare for school.

ALIYA

I am sorry mom.

RAMAT

Don’t worry about me.

ALIYA

He came home drunk again. Did he hurt you?

RAMAT

I am all right Aliya.

ALIYA

Let me see your face.

RAMAT

You are running late Aliya. You should go now.

ALIYA

One day ma, I promise that monster would hurt you no more.

RAMAT

(chuckles)

You are funny child. He is your father.

ALIYA

He is a monster

Aliya kisses her on her head and leaves to go prepare for school. Ramat watches her leave revealing the scars on her face.

School, Aliya’s class room…

Aliya’s hand continuously hitting her pen on her desk making

a rhythm, echoes     of students talking. With focus on her hitting the

pen, her eyes and her lips as she mumbles softly.

STUDENT ONE

…I did it bro…

STUDENT TWO

…I think James has a crush on

you…

MR TEGA

So what do you want to do with your life?

With his words he grabs the attention of everyone except Aliya who is still lost in her world.

STUDENT THREE

… I am definitely going to become a lawyer…

The echo of students talking still fills Aliya’s ears.

ALIYA (V.O.)

Here is me, I don’t talk much, I just

Play in my head. Sometimes, sometimes you are always

left with your thoughts, to imagine. It doesn’t

matter how much friends you have or how popular you

are, there are times you just think about how lonely

you are and what you want to do with your life…

especially when your life serves no purpose

To humanity

MR TEGA (O.S.)

Aliya… Aliya

She snaps from her thoughts. Her pen slips off her fingers.

Her face glows up with her being confuse.

MR TEGA (CONT’D)

Aliya… it’s your turn. Step in front of the class

and tell us what you want to do.

She stands from her chairs and walks in doubt to the front of

the class.

ALIYA (V.O.)

Well this is that time.

MR TEGA

Aliya?

ALIYA (V.O)

A year ago I didn’t know what I wanted

To do with my life, and now…

BACK TO PRESENT

Aliya running in panic turning back occasionally and each time, Lala is behind her.

ALIYA (V.O)

…and now a running for it.

Leave a Reply

